
Onsen · Tattoos · Private baths
262 baths. Every rule read from the bath's own Japanese site, quoted and dated.
Ask anything
"Not stated on the official site" never counts as a yes.
Put them in a shoe locker. Slippers or bare feet from here.
Leave everything in a locker or basket. Swimsuits are usually not allowed.
Sit at a shower stool, wash and rinse well. The bath is for soaking, not washing.
Keep it on your head or at the side. It never goes in the water.
Tie long hair so it doesn't touch the water.
No swimming or splashing. Phones and cameras stay in the locker.
Wipe down before you walk back into the changing room.
80% of our 262 onsen don't say anything. "Not stated" is not a yes.
Some baths allow covered tattoos and give a size. We quote every rule we found: 10 places.
Some baths allow tattoos in a private bath only — check each bath's rule.
Not sure? Show a front desk card. Staff answer by tapping はい or いいえ.
Called kashikiri. 90 of our baths mention one.
Some take bookings, some are first come. Ask at the desk.
Use the private bath questions in the front desk cards.
Tokyo's set public-bath price from Aug 1, 2026.
Then pay at the counter and go to your side.
If you didn't bring them, ask at the counter.
Find by what matters
of our 262 onsen don't state a tattoo rule. We show "Not stated" instead of guessing.
Hakone · 128 places
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Day-use hot spring
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Day-use hot spring
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Ryokan / hotel
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →
Area photoHakone · Day-use hot spring
✓ From the official site · checked Oct 29, 2026
Open the full page →Front desk cards
Pick everything you're unsure about. Staff answer by tapping はい or いいえ, and you read it in English.
Works offline once added to Home ScreenRules that changed
Our promise