Hozomon Gate, Asakusa, Tokyo, at nightArea photo · Tokyo

Onsen rules · 49 places

Tokyo sento

Neighborhood sento (public bathhouses) in Tokyo that list a hot-spring or open-air bath.

Ask about Tokyo

"Not stated on the official site" never counts as a yes.

The short answer

Of the 49 onsen we list in Tokyo, 11 are tattoo-friendly and 43 are open to day visitors, according to their official sites (as of ).

What the 49 official sites say about tattoos
49places
Tattoo-friendlyAllowed, with limits, if covered or private bath only11 bathsDay visitsNo overnight stay43 baths
¥600
The set adult price, from Aug 1, 2026Children (ages 6–11) ¥200 · Children (under 6) ¥100 ·
What changed How to bathe

Tattoos welcome, with their rules

Start here

Area photo
Allowed

Akebonoyu

Adachi
Area photo
Allowed

Daikokuyu

Sumida
Area photo
Allowed

Eastland

Edogawa
Area photo
Allowed with limits

Fukagawa Onsen Tokiwayu

Koto
Area photo
Allowed

Hasunuma Onsen

Ota
Area photo
Allowed

Hinodeyu

Taito
Area photo
Allowed

Kōmyōsen

Meguro
Area photo
Allowed

Nishishinagawa Onsen Miyagiyu

Shinagawa
Area photo
Allowed

Takarayu

Nakano
Area photo
Allowed

Therme Suehiro

Kita
Area photo
Allowed

Yudonburi Sakaeyu

Taito

A–Z · not ranked

All 49 places

A–Z, not ranked. "Not stated" means the official site doesn't say — it doesn't mean "no".

Map
YesNoNot statedStill checking49 shown

Questions

Quick answers

Can I go to an onsen in Tokyo with tattoos?11 places10 say allowed, 1 with limits. 2 say not allowed; 3 still checking; 33 don't say.
Tattoo-friendly and open to day visitors?11 placesBoth, by their official sites.
Can I bathe without staying the night?43 placesSay on their official site that day visitors can bathe.
Why so many "Not stated"?33 placesTheir sites don't mention tattoos. We say so instead of guessing.

Guides

Before you go

How to batheSeven stepsWill a sticker be enough?Every size rule

Onsen towns

Other towns

Hakone128 places · KanagawaBeppu85 places · Oita