Data
Counted from our data as of : 262 places in Hakone, Beppu and Tokyo. Every place's rule comes from its own official Japanese website. How we count · CSV · How to cite
The short answer
Of the 262 onsen we list in Hakone, Beppu and Tokyo, 23 (9%) are tattoo-friendly, 16 (6%) say tattoos are not allowed, and 210 (80%) don't say on the official site (as of ).
| Hakone | Beppu | Tokyo | All | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Places we list | 128 | 85 | 49 | 262 |
| Tattoos allowed in some form | 11 9% | 1 1% | 11 22% | 23 9% |
| Day visitors can bathe | 40 31% | 27 32% | 43 88% | 110 42% |
| Private bath available | 56 44% | 34 40% | 0 0% | 90 34% |
| Hakone | Beppu | Tokyo | All | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allowed | 3 2% | 0 0% | 10 20% | 13 5% |
| Allowed with limits | 3 2% | 0 0% | 1 2% | 4 2% |
| Allowed if covered | 2 2% | 1 1% | 0 0% | 3 1% |
| Private bath only | 3 2% | 0 0% | 0 0% | 3 1% |
| Allowed in some form (the four rows above) | 11 9% | 1 1% | 11 22% | 23 9% |
| Not allowed | 10 8% | 4 5% | 2 4% | 16 6% |
| Not stated on the official site | 98 77% | 79 93% | 33 67% | 210 80% |
| Still being checked | 9 7% | 1 1% | 3 6% | 13 5% |
| Hakone | Beppu | Tokyo | All | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Day visitors can bathe | 40 31% | 27 32% | 43 88% | 110 42% |
| The official site says day visits aren't offered | 11 9% | 9 11% | 0 0% | 20 8% |
| Not stated on the official site | 69 54% | 41 48% | 3 6% | 113 43% |
| Still being checked | 8 6% | 8 9% | 3 6% | 19 7% |
| Hakone | Beppu | Tokyo | All | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Private bath available | 56 44% | 34 40% | 0 0% | 90 34% |
| The official site says there is no private bath | 6 5% | 6 7% | 0 0% | 12 5% |
| Not stated on the official site | 54 42% | 40 47% | 49 100% | 143 55% |
| Still being checked | 12 9% | 5 6% | 0 0% | 17 6% |
公衆浴場入浴料金の統制額 / 大人(12歳以上の者) 600円 (現行550円) / 中人(6歳以上12歳未満の者) 200円 (据え置き) / 小人(6歳未満の者) 100円 (据え置き) / 実施時期 / 令和8年8月1日
Source: 東京都生活文化局(東京くらしWEB) https://www.shouhiseikatu.metro.tokyo.lg.jp/chousa/yokujyo/touseigaku.html · Checked 2026-10-29Each place is counted once, under the label shown for it on our area pages.
“Not stated on the official site” means the site doesn't say either way. We never count it as a yes or a no.
“Still being checked” means we found wording on the site but haven't confirmed it yet. It isn't counted as a yes or a no either.
“Tattoos allowed in some form” adds up the first four tattoo labels: allowed, allowed with limits, allowed if covered, and private bath only. What each label means is on How we check.
Places listed without a details page (the official site states none of the three, or we're still checking) are counted: 75 places.
Places whose official site suggests they may be closed, for good or for now, are not counted: 11 places.
Percentages are of all places we list in that area, rounded to a whole number, so a column may not add up to exactly 100%.
These are counts of what official websites say. They aren't ratings. Rules change, and each place's page shows the date we checked.
The numbers in the tables above as a CSV file: one row per area, and one for all areas. Summary counts only — for what each place says, see its page, where every rule is quoted with its source and the date we checked.