Steam rising from a blue hot-spring pond in BeppuArea photo · not this facility

Beppu · City-run public bathhouse

Hamada Onsen

浜田温泉

Checked Oct 29, 2026

The short answer

Tattoos: not stated on the official site; Day visit: yes; Private bath: not stated on the official site — per the official site, checked .

Can I get in with tattoos?

Not stated

The official site doesn't say. That isn't a no — ask before you go.
The official site doesn't say either way. That isn't the same as "no" — it's worth asking the facility before you go.
Day visitDay visitors can batheAs stated on the official site.

Tattoo rule stated · A–Z, not ranked

Other baths in Beppu

Can I visit just for the bath?

Day visits, without staying overnight
PriceAdults (junior high and up) (大人(中学生以上)): ¥200
Children (小人): ¥100
Children (under elementary school age) (小学生未満): Free
Hours6:30 am – 10:30 pm (no entry or bathing 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm for cleaning)
ClosedFirst Thursday of the month (the closure may change if it is a holiday) (第1木曜日(祝日のときは変更の場合あり))
Official wording · 3 quotes
Bath fees: adults (junior high and up) 200 yen; children 100 yen (children under elementary school age are free).Source: https://www.city.beppu.oita.jp/sisetu/shieionsen/detail10.html · Checked 2026-10-29
Open 6:30 am – 10:30 pm. From 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm is cleaning time, so entry and bathing are not possible.Source: https://www.city.beppu.oita.jp/sisetu/shieionsen/detail10.html · Checked 2026-10-29
Closed: first Thursday of the month (the closure may change if it is a holiday).Source: https://www.city.beppu.oita.jp/sisetu/shieionsen/detail10.html · Checked 2026-10-29

Is there a private bath?

Not stated on the official site

Private baths (kashikiri / family baths)The official site doesn't say. That isn't a no — ask before you go. The official site doesn't say either way. That isn't the same as "no" — it's worth asking the facility before you go.

Before you go

Tick off before you leave

Ask at the deskStaff tap はい or いいえ

Rules can change. This is what the official page said on Oct 29, 2026. Check with the facility if it matters for your trip.

1 official pageEvery line above, checked Oct 29, 2026
  1. https://www.city.beppu.oita.jp/sisetu/shieionsen/detail10.html

Official site: https://www.city.beppu.oita.jp/sisetu/shieionsen/detail10.html. English name is our romanization.

More in BeppuAll 85 places, A–Z. See the list
BeppuCity-run public bathhouse
Official site