Lake Ashi, Hakone, with Mt. FujiArea photo · not this facility

Hakone · Ryokan / hotel

Hakone Taiyo Sanso

国民宿舎 箱根太陽山荘

Checked Oct 29, 2026

The short answer

Tattoos: not stated on the official site; Day visit: yes; Private bath: not stated on the official site — per the official site, checked .

Can I get in with tattoos?

Not stated

The official site doesn't say. That isn't a no — ask before you go.
The official site doesn't say either way. That isn't the same as "no" — it's worth asking the facility before you go.
Day visitDay visitors can batheAs stated on the official site.

Tattoo rule stated · A–Z, not ranked

Other baths in Hakone

Can I visit just for the bath?

Day visits, without staying overnight
Price, hours & bookingNot shown yet — we couldn't match every detail to the official wording. Please check the official site.
Official wording · 4 quotes
Walk-in day-trip guests can also enjoy the hot springs.Source: https://taiyosanso.com/onsen/day.html · Checked 2026-10-29
Day-trip bathing hoursSource: https://taiyosanso.com/onsen/day.html · Checked 2026-10-29
(Rental towel included)Source: https://taiyosanso.com/onsen/day.html · Checked 2026-10-29
Day-trip payment is cash only.Source: https://taiyosanso.com/faq/ · Checked 2026-10-29

Is there a private bath?

Not stated on the official site

Private baths (kashikiri / family baths)The official site doesn't say. That isn't a no — ask before you go. The official site doesn't say either way. That isn't the same as "no" — it's worth asking the facility before you go.

Before you go

Tick off before you leave

Ask at the deskStaff tap はい or いいえ

Rules can change. This is what the official page said on Oct 29, 2026. Check with the facility if it matters for your trip.

2 official pagesEvery line above, checked Oct 29, 2026
  1. https://taiyosanso.com/onsen/day.html
  2. https://taiyosanso.com/faq/

Official site: http://www.taiyosanso.com/.

More in HakoneAll 128 places, A–Z. See the list
HakoneRyokan / hotel
Official site